Frank James http://kplu.org en Another Day, Another Reason For Voters To Loathe Congress http://kplu.org/post/another-day-another-reason-voters-loathe-congress Congressional approval ratings are at rock bottom. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 00:07:45 +0000 Frank James 17518 at http://kplu.org Another Day, Another Reason For Voters To Loathe Congress Pew's Latest Look At Voters Finds Many Who Defy Party Labels http://kplu.org/post/pews-latest-look-voters-finds-many-who-defy-party-labels Following up on its <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/itsallpolitics/2014/06/12/321417426/pew-poll-more-americans-are-political-purists">recent report</a> on the ever-widening ideological gulf between Americans, the Pew Research Center <a href="http://www.people-press.org/2014/06/26/the-political-typology-beyond-red-vs-blue/">unveiled its latest sorting</a> of voters into categories based, in part, on the relative strength or weakness of their partisan attachments.<p>Not only that, Pew also has an <a href="http://www.people-press.org/quiz/political-typology/">online quiz</a> of 23 questions th Fri, 27 Jun 2014 01:04:52 +0000 Frank James 17441 at http://kplu.org Pew's Latest Look At Voters Finds Many Who Defy Party Labels 4 Takeaways From Hillary Clinton's 'Fresh Air' Interview http://kplu.org/post/4-takeaways-hillary-clintons-fresh-air-interview So when exactly did Hillary Clinton change her mind on same-sex marriage? That question was left unanswered in the former secretary of state's <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/06/12/321313477/hillary-clinton-the-fresh-air-interview">lively exchange</a> with <em>Fresh Air </em>host Terry Gross.<p>The same-sex marriage portion of the interview made for compelling listening because of how much Clinton bridled at Terry's suggestion that she privately supported it long before she publicly endorsed it, and how much Terry kept asking the question. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 21:33:11 +0000 Frank James 17157 at http://kplu.org 4 Takeaways From Hillary Clinton's 'Fresh Air' Interview Explaining The Bergdahl Swap Hasn't Been Obama's Finest Hour http://kplu.org/post/explaining-bergdahl-swap-hasnt-been-obamas-finest-hour While White House officials are keeping a brave face, President Obama and his top aides obviously have a political firestorm on their hands, owing not only to the particular details of the prisoner exchange involving Sgt. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 00:56:19 +0000 Frank James 17010 at http://kplu.org Explaining The Bergdahl Swap Hasn't Been Obama's Finest Hour Move Over Benghazi; Here Comes Bergdahl http://kplu.org/post/move-over-benghazi-here-comes-bergdahl Just when it seemed like the outrage on the political right over Benghazi had subsided to the point where only the announcement of House hearings put it back in the headlines, the exchange of captive U.S. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 22:50:05 +0000 Frank James 16933 at http://kplu.org Move Over Benghazi; Here Comes Bergdahl New EPA Rules Burn Red State Democrats http://kplu.org/post/new-epa-rules-burn-red-state-democrats While many on the left embraced the Environmental Protection Agency's new rules to reduce coal-burning power plant carbon emissions by 30 percent by 2030, some red state Democrats couldn't put enough distance between themselves and the Obama administration.<p>You would have had a tough time, for instance, distinguishing the reaction of Kentucky Democrat Alison Lundergan Grimes from that of the man she hopes to replace, Sen. Mitch McConnell, the Senate's top Republican.<p>"President Obama's new EPA rule is more proof that Washington isn't working for Kentucky. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 17:28:00 +0000 Frank James 16916 at http://kplu.org New EPA Rules Burn Red State Democrats Veteran Congressman Makes A Career-Threatening Mistake http://kplu.org/post/veteran-congressman-makes-career-threatening-mistake It's basically Politics 101. To get on the ballot in many states, candidates for office must first collect a designated number of valid signatures from voters, and present those petitions to election administrators.<p>It's just as basic for their opponents to question the validity of those signatures — with the hopes of denying a foe a spot on the ballot. That's how, for instance, President Obama managed to win his first political office, an Illinois state Senate seat. Mon, 12 May 2014 18:17:40 +0000 Frank James 16504 at http://kplu.org Veteran Congressman Makes A Career-Threatening Mistake The Energy Behind Repealing Obamacare May Be Ebbing http://kplu.org/post/energy-behind-repealing-obamacare-may-be-ebbing Sure, you can still hear congressional Republicans talking about repealing the Affordable Care Act.<p>But there's clearly something different about the current climate, and the GOP approach to Obamacare. The thrill of repeal may not be gone for Republicans, but much of the urgency of repeal is.<p>For starters, the House GOP doesn't have more repeal votes lined up for these weeks after the spring recess.<p>When Rep. Mon, 05 May 2014 19:29:29 +0000 Frank James 16398 at http://kplu.org The Energy Behind Repealing Obamacare May Be Ebbing John Boehner Foe Targets 'Electile' Dysfunction http://kplu.org/post/john-boehner-foe-targets-electile-dysfunction <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9A8kq85Umco</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:13:10 +0000 Frank James 16017 at http://kplu.org Obama And Al Sharpton: An Odd Couple Who Make Political Sense http://kplu.org/post/obama-and-al-sharpton-odd-couple-who-make-political-sense President Obama and Rev. Al Sharpton might at first seem like one of the odder couples in U.S. politics.<p>The president is by nature a super-cautious politician, measured in his rhetoric. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:39:01 +0000 Frank James 15919 at http://kplu.org Obama And Al Sharpton: An Odd Couple Who Make Political Sense Holder Plays Asparagus Card Against GOP Antagonist http://kplu.org/post/holder-plays-asparagus-card-against-gop-antagonist <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iTOCih4ZAAE</p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 21:29:13 +0000 Frank James 15809 at http://kplu.org Holder Plays Asparagus Card Against GOP Antagonist The Politics Of Equal Pay: It's More Than A Women's Issue http://kplu.org/post/politics-equal-pay-its-more-womens-issue The pay equity issue, which President Obama and Democrats are making a central theme of the 2014 midterm election campaign, is often framed as a women's issue. But Democrats are expecting it will also have crossover appeal to men.<p>For many men, it's a matter of self-interest: Two-income families are part of a long-term trend, as many families find two paychecks essential to cover the bills in an era of rising prices and stagnant, if not falling, wages.<p><a href="http://www.bls.gov/news.release/famee.nr0.htm">U.S. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 19:33:29 +0000 Frank James 15803 at http://kplu.org The Politics Of Equal Pay: It's More Than A Women's Issue The Pope And The President: Common Ground But A Clear Divide http://kplu.org/post/pope-and-president-common-ground-clear-divide President Obama's Vatican meeting with Pope Francis wasn't without a dose of irony.<p>The U.S. president, once the world leader whose vow of "hope" and "change" excited millions, seemed eclipsed Thursday in that department by the pope.<p>The pope certainly is polling better than Obama among Americans. A recent <a href="http://polls.saintleo.edu/popes-approval-rating-at-85-percent-among-u-s-catholics/">St. Leo University poll</a> placed the pope's approval rating at 85 percent among Catholics and 65 percent among all Americans. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 14:39:34 +0000 Frank James 15421 at http://kplu.org The Pope And The President: Common Ground But A Clear Divide For Senate Candidates, It's Gaffe Season http://kplu.org/post/senate-candidates-its-gaffe-season <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QH51LNpqZ94</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aHOE8XhTF2o</p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 14:12:57 +0000 Frank James 15376 at http://kplu.org For Senate Candidates, It's Gaffe Season The Political Winner From The Proposed NSA Changes? Rand Paul http://kplu.org/post/political-winner-proposed-nsa-changes-rand-paul It's too early to gauge the political impact of President Obama's plans <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/03/25/294171358/white-house-to-propose-halting-bulk-collection-of-phone-data">to tame the NSA's data-gathering effort</a>. The full details of the proposal haven't been made public yet.<p>But it's not too soon to say that Sen. Rand Paul, R-Ky., appears to be a winner. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 01:44:34 +0000 Frank James 15307 at http://kplu.org The Political Winner From The Proposed NSA Changes? Rand Paul