Frank James http://kplu.org en John Boehner Foe Targets 'Electile' Dysfunction http://kplu.org/post/john-boehner-foe-targets-electile-dysfunction <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9A8kq85Umco</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:13:10 +0000 Frank James 16017 at http://kplu.org Obama And Al Sharpton: An Odd Couple Who Make Political Sense http://kplu.org/post/obama-and-al-sharpton-odd-couple-who-make-political-sense President Obama and Rev. Al Sharpton might at first seem like one of the odder couples in U.S. politics.<p>The president is by nature a super-cautious politician, measured in his rhetoric. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:39:01 +0000 Frank James 15919 at http://kplu.org Obama And Al Sharpton: An Odd Couple Who Make Political Sense Holder Plays Asparagus Card Against GOP Antagonist http://kplu.org/post/holder-plays-asparagus-card-against-gop-antagonist <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iTOCih4ZAAE</p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 21:29:13 +0000 Frank James 15809 at http://kplu.org Holder Plays Asparagus Card Against GOP Antagonist The Politics Of Equal Pay: It's More Than A Women's Issue http://kplu.org/post/politics-equal-pay-its-more-womens-issue The pay equity issue, which President Obama and Democrats are making a central theme of the 2014 midterm election campaign, is often framed as a women's issue. But Democrats are expecting it will also have crossover appeal to men.<p>For many men, it's a matter of self-interest: Two-income families are part of a long-term trend, as many families find two paychecks essential to cover the bills in an era of rising prices and stagnant, if not falling, wages.<p><a href="http://www.bls.gov/news.release/famee.nr0.htm">U.S. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 19:33:29 +0000 Frank James 15803 at http://kplu.org The Politics Of Equal Pay: It's More Than A Women's Issue The Pope And The President: Common Ground But A Clear Divide http://kplu.org/post/pope-and-president-common-ground-clear-divide President Obama's Vatican meeting with Pope Francis wasn't without a dose of irony.<p>The U.S. president, once the world leader whose vow of "hope" and "change" excited millions, seemed eclipsed Thursday in that department by the pope.<p>The pope certainly is polling better than Obama among Americans. A recent <a href="http://polls.saintleo.edu/popes-approval-rating-at-85-percent-among-u-s-catholics/">St. Leo University poll</a> placed the pope's approval rating at 85 percent among Catholics and 65 percent among all Americans. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 14:39:34 +0000 Frank James 15421 at http://kplu.org The Pope And The President: Common Ground But A Clear Divide For Senate Candidates, It's Gaffe Season http://kplu.org/post/senate-candidates-its-gaffe-season <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QH51LNpqZ94</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aHOE8XhTF2o</p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 14:12:57 +0000 Frank James 15376 at http://kplu.org For Senate Candidates, It's Gaffe Season The Political Winner From The Proposed NSA Changes? Rand Paul http://kplu.org/post/political-winner-proposed-nsa-changes-rand-paul It's too early to gauge the political impact of President Obama's plans <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/03/25/294171358/white-house-to-propose-halting-bulk-collection-of-phone-data">to tame the NSA's data-gathering effort</a>. The full details of the proposal haven't been made public yet.<p>But it's not too soon to say that Sen. Rand Paul, R-Ky., appears to be a winner. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 01:44:34 +0000 Frank James 15307 at http://kplu.org The Political Winner From The Proposed NSA Changes? Rand Paul Why The Democrats' Koch Brothers Fixation? http://kplu.org/post/why-democrats-koch-brothers-fixation Another day, another wave of Democratic attacks on the Koch brothers and their Republican allies.<p>Sen. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 13:06:26 +0000 Frank James 15272 at http://kplu.org Why The Democrats' Koch Brothers Fixation? Health Law's 4th Birthday Divides Democrats, Unites GOP On Message http://kplu.org/post/health-laws-4th-birthday-divides-democrats-unites-gop-message With the fourth anniversary of President Obama's signing of the Affordable Care Act this weekend, if you were a Democrat boasting about the health law, you were more than likely a party official or lawmaker with a seat so safe you could publicly celebrate the occasion.<p>Like Rep. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 23:27:33 +0000 Frank James 15163 at http://kplu.org Health Law's 4th Birthday Divides Democrats, Unites GOP On Message With Wind At Its Back, GOP Expands 2014 Senate Map http://kplu.org/post/wind-its-back-gop-expands-2014-senate-map Republicans seem to have all the momentum lately when it comes to the battle for control of the U.S. Senate.<p>GOP chances were already looking brighter because of the drag on Democrats from the Affordable Care Act and President Obama's low approval ratings. Then came two developments that suddenly expanded the playing field: Former GOP Sen. Scott Brown recently announced his intent to run against New Hampshire Democratic Sen. Jeanne Shaheen, and GOP Rep. Cory Gardner jumped in against Colorado Democratic Sen. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 00:57:43 +0000 Frank James 15116 at http://kplu.org With Wind At Its Back, GOP Expands 2014 Senate Map Obama's Foreign Policy: More Second-Term Misses Than Hits http://kplu.org/post/obamas-foreign-policy-more-second-term-misses-hits Second-term presidents who find their ability to shape domestic affairs limited by congressional constraints often view foreign policy as the arena in which they can post some successes.<p>Ronald Reagan had his second-term breakthrough with Mikhail Gorbachev, the Soviet Union's general secretary. Bill Clinton had the U.S. lead its NATO allies into taking military action against the Serbian government of Slobodan Milosevic. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 00:41:06 +0000 Frank James 15017 at http://kplu.org Obama's Foreign Policy: More Second-Term Misses Than Hits GOP's Health Law Alternative Could Be Messy As Obamacare http://kplu.org/post/gops-health-law-alternative-could-be-messy-obamacare Ever since Republicans began using the words "repeal and replace" back in 2010 to describe their intentions for the Affordable Care Act, they've faced a question: What, exactly, would they replace it with?<p>While there's currently no clear Republican alternative for the health care law, President Obama's signature domestic achievement, the House Republican leadership is signaling there will be one this year.<p>The signal came in the form of <a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/house-republican-leaders-craft-their-vision-for-an-alternative-to-health-care-law/2014/03/16/b98db274-ab7e Tue, 18 Mar 2014 05:28:13 +0000 Frank James 14972 at http://kplu.org GOP's Health Law Alternative Could Be Messy As Obamacare Breakthrough On Jobless Benefits May Lead To Blind Alley http://kplu.org/post/breakthrough-jobless-benefits-may-lead-blind-alley The <a href="http://www.politico.com/story/2014/03/senate-unemployment-benefits-deal-104644.html?hp=t1">bipartisan agreement</a> in the Senate over a five-month extension of federal unemployment insurance for the long-term jobless may seem like a breakthrough.<p>But for <a href="http://www.networklobby.org/people/marge-clark-bvm">Sister Marge Clark</a>, senior lobbyist for NETWORK — a national Catholic social justice lobby that welcomes the news, the fact that the agreement is seen as a progress shows just how far the political situation in Washington has deteriorated.<p>"Some of the politics Fri, 14 Mar 2014 23:50:40 +0000 Frank James 14890 at http://kplu.org Breakthrough On Jobless Benefits May Lead To Blind Alley Will Democrats Change Their Health Law Message After Florida Loss? http://kplu.org/post/will-democrats-change-their-health-law-message-after-florida-loss Congressional Democrats' messaging on the Affordable Care Act obviously didn't work as they had hoped in the Florida special election for a vacant House seat, since Republican David Jolly won the Tuesday vote.<p>But does that mean Democrats should abandon the "fix it, don't nix" it message delivered by Democrat Alex Sink, who narrowly lost a race that Republicans sought to nationalize and turn into a referendum on the health law?<p>Rep. Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., certainly isn't saying so.<p>"I think that our candidate Alex Sink — she's so excellent, so superb — and she said it just right. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 03:12:36 +0000 Frank James 14839 at http://kplu.org Will Democrats Change Their Health Law Message After Florida Loss? Feinstein's CIA Outrage Splits Senate http://kplu.org/post/feinsteins-cia-outrage-splits-senate The Senate was a chamber divided in reaction to Democrat Sen. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 23:45:51 +0000 Frank James 14722 at http://kplu.org Feinstein's CIA Outrage Splits Senate