Alix Spiegel http://kplu.org en The Secret History Behind The Science Of Stress http://kplu.org/post/secret-history-behind-science-stress The modern idea of stress began on a rooftop in Canada, with a handful of rats freezing in the winter wind.<p>This was 1936 and by that point the owner of the rats, an endocrinologist named Hans Selye, had become expert at making rats suffer for science.<p>"He would subject them to extreme temperatures, make them go hungry for long periods, or make them exercise a lot," the medical historian <a href="https://humanities.exeter.ac.uk/history/staff/jackson/">Mark Jackson </a>says. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 22:37:39 +0000 Alix Spiegel 17607 at http://kplu.org The Secret History Behind The Science Of Stress So You Think You're Smarter Than A CIA Agent http://kplu.org/post/so-you-think-youre-smarter-cia-agent The morning I met Elaine Rich, she was sitting at the kitchen table of her small town home in suburban Maryland trying to estimate refugee flows in Syria.<p>It wasn't the only question she was considering; there were others:<p>Will North Korea launch a new multistage missile before May 10, 2014?<p>Will Russian armed forces enter Kharkiv, Ukraine, by May 10? Rich's answers to these questions would eventually be evaluated by the intelligence community, but she didn't feel much pressure because this wasn't her full-time gig.<p>"I'm just a pharmacist," she said. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 17:14:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 15605 at http://kplu.org So You Think You're Smarter Than A CIA Agent Good Art Is Popular Because It's Good. Right? http://kplu.org/post/good-art-popular-because-its-good-right In July of last year, a man named Sidney Sealine went to see the Mona Lisa in Paris.<p>The idea was to spend some time with the picture, see for himself the special spark that made the painting so famous.<p>But Sealine couldn't even get close.<p>In <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvK8t6DMYlM" target="_blank">his video of the visit</a>, you see people of every race and nationality crowded around the barricades that separate them from the painting. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 17:27:12 +0000 Alix Spiegel 14201 at http://kplu.org Good Art Is Popular Because It's Good. Right? When Memories Never Fade, The Past Can Poison The Present http://kplu.org/post/when-memories-never-fade-past-can-poison-present On Feb. 21, Alexandra Wolff ate steak, mashed potatoes and broccoli for dinner. Later that night, sitting in her room, she spent 20 minutes scanning pictures in <em>InStyle</em> magazine.<p>She remembers those things, just as she remembers that on Aug. 2 she stopped at Target and bought Raisin Bran; and on April 17 she wore a white button-down shirt; and on Oct. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 22:15:19 +0000 Alix Spiegel 12123 at http://kplu.org When Memories Never Fade, The Past Can Poison The Present Mining Books To Map Emotions Through A Century http://kplu.org/post/mining-books-map-emotions-through-century Were people happier in the 1950s than they are today? Or were they more frustrated, repressed and sad?<p>To find out, you'd have to compare the emotions of one generation to another. Tue, 02 Apr 2013 01:03:52 +0000 Alix Spiegel 8245 at http://kplu.org Mining Books To Map Emotions Through A Century No Mercy For Robots: Experiment Tests How Humans Relate To Machines http://kplu.org/post/no-mercy-robots-experiment-tests-how-humans-relate-machines <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Kf9coMuVuI</p> Mon, 28 Jan 2013 18:07:41 +0000 Alix Spiegel 7659 at http://kplu.org No Mercy For Robots: Experiment Tests How Humans Relate To Machines